In the Jungle

The last week of December, we surprised my mom with a very personal trip to the tiny jungle town –where I was born– that she hadn’t been back to in 17 years. The trip had been planned for months, and we relished keeping the secret from her.

IMG_7608

One of my sister’s friends even spilled the beans right in front of her, but we managed to mostly ignore what she said and my mom didn’t put the pieces together.

My dad and a friend had planned a gathering of many of the people they’d worked with all those years ago, and we arranged to stay in house you might recognize if you’ve seen End of the Spear.

IMG_7610

I had a lot of childhood memories of playing in that house, especially when it was raining. The screened in porch is just as amazing, but the traffic outside is not. The sleepy jungle town of my youth now has a paved portion of the Panamerican Highway running right through town.

IMG_7619

Pro travel tip: earplugs. I almost always sleep with them when I’m traveling. They’re helpful for traffic, barking dogs (looking at you, Turkey), roosters (Indonesia), the 5 a.m. call to prayer (Egypt), and snoring roommates (Cuba!) They’re also useful when jet-lagged husband starts snoring.

IMG_7612

Some of my fondest childhood memories are of running around on the base property, making various forts and clubs with my two buddies, Jonathan and David. So it was cute to see the kids run off to do the same.

IMG_7649

There’s the house I grew up in.

IMG_7629

We headed straight for the hanger.

IMG_7633

I took my first steps out on that tarmac, learned to roller skate and fished for guppies in that drainage ditch.

IMG_7641

We had to recreate a photo from 1983 taken with my dad’s sister’s kids and us. The 2017 version has my sister’s and my kids in it. They look just as sweaty and flushed as we did in 1983. Some things never change.

IMG_7643

My dad was jazzed to show his grandkids around.

IMG_7639

IMG_7671

And they were just as jazzed about the airplanes.

IMG_7650

Then while he and my husband hung around the hangar, we took the kids on a trip down memory lane.

IMG_7653

We passed my elementary school.

IMG_7663

And crossed the bridge that led to my best friend, Bekah’s house.

IMG_7659

Where I also dropped my super-expensive custom earplugs, and where my friend, Norma climbed down and rescued them.

IMG_7668

There used to be just two ways across the river; today there are four.

IMG_7665

Uphill both ways, snow, etc.

[Shell in a synopsis: 5,000 feet of altitude. 25 feet of rain per year. 100% humidity, all the time.]

Untitled

Then we hoofed it back to the hangar for our flight.

IMG_7682

There’s the Pastaza River basin as it passes by Shell.

IMG_7687

There’s downtown Shell.

IMG_7686

There’s the old swimming hole, which got washed away by rains just a few days after we were there.

IMG_7694

There’s the soccer field, the hospital, my friend Bekah’s old house and our friends the Williams’s house.

IMG_7697

My kids loved it when pilot Dan did some “fun flying:” turning the nose up until we went weightless, coasting, sharp turns, etc. He kept it light for the sake of the kids, but I’ve heard stories of the barrel rolls my dad used to do.

Untitled

We enjoyed dinner with some old friends before heading down to put the kids to bed.

IMG_7700

Meanwhile, about 20 people my parents worked with gathered in the living room to share memories. It was fun to see their faces, most with a few more wrinkles and gray hairs, some a little wider around the middle.

And with those few connections made, it was time to head back up the road to Quito.

Leave a Reply

