Scenes from the Car Window

IMG_7508

A couple days after Christmas, we made the pilgrimage down to the jungle town where I spent the first 12 years of my life.

IMG_7516

My mom hadn’t been back for something like 17 years. (I went back about 8 years ago, to apply for Ecuadorian citizenship so I could get a passport.) It was a crazy process that entailed finding some old records office, having them pull out the dusty physical book from 1979 where the documentation of my birth was handwritten, and photocopying the page.

IMG_7520

I’m very biased, but as we made the 3-hour journey east which drops more than 4,000 ft in elevation, I was reminded again about how lovely this tiny little country is.

IMG_7537

Rugged mountains, green fields, white-washed mud homes with thatched roofes, the vegetation and the patchwork quilt effect of the cultivated fields.

 

IMG_7543

And then there’s the beautiful sight of an energetic three-year-old passed out in her car seat:

IMG_7527

Leave a Reply

