Idaho Proves Me Wrong

Untitled

Every year, my parents try to entice us to come to their home in Idaho. Often we go there for Christmas, but it’s usually too expensive to go there twice a year.

Untitled

Every time the thought of, “Oh, wouldn’t 3 kids be nice” comes in, I shut it down with a quick: “PLANE TICKETS.” I’m a romantic like that.)

Untitled

My parents live in Idaho, but I never have. They moved there one month after the husband and I got married. So it’s never been home.

UntitledUntitled

However, I often tell people how I made fun of them when we were all living in California and they decided to move to Idaho. I told them they were moving to the sticks.

Untitled

Ten months after they left, we moved to Oklahoma.

I LOST.

Untitled

The one thing Oklahoma has going for it though, is that it doesn’t get so cold here. Every Christmas at my parents’ house, we are slogging through snow, bundling kids in coats and hats and boots and gloves.

But Idaho in the summer is a different story.

Untitled

This year we pulled it off and headed to Idaho in late July/early August.

Untitled

I am so glad we did. We greatly enjoyed the Idaho outdoors, which are lovely when it’s not negative one million outside.

Untitled

Plus, my mom went all out with cooking. She’s a teacher, so she relishes those summers when she can do all the things she doesn’t have time for during the school year.

Untitled

Hello, homemade French Toast sticks.

Untitled

Untitled

There was a berry picking trip, a lake trip, a farmer’s market trip, a secret waterfall hike, various walks along the Green Belt and of course, an airport trip.

Untitled

They crawled all over the planes, while I nervously hoped they didn’t break anything.

Untitled

It was good to be with my mom and dad and watch them spoil the kids.

Untitled

We just might have to make it happen again.

Leave a Reply

