Bucket List: Terracotta Warriors

IMG_5369

I’m sure I first learned about these ancient warriors in some social studies class. For some reason, they stuck in my memory.

IMG_5365

I never really expected to see them in person, but when we found we had an extra day in Xian, it quickly made our agenda.

Untitled

IMG_5351

I’m not sure what I expected, but it wasn’t a large covered warehouse. In fact, I think I always pictured them in a cave, for some reason. But instead, there are pits of unearthed clay warriors, poised and ready for the afterlife.

IMG_5359

And for whatever reason, I didn’t expect this great expanse of museum grounds.

IMG_5381

But the thing I learned about China is that they like to do it up grand. The train stations are always cavernous. So it makes sense that a museum dedicated to this key part of their history would be expansive, too.

IMG_5395

The detail is amazing. Each armor panel and hair bun are a little different.

IMG_5372

I was thankful we were there in January, when the crowds were thin and we could really see. Most of the other tourists were Chinese, which was interesting.

IMG_5380

Check one off the bucket list, I guess!

IMG_5390

Leave a Reply

