Kitchenness

Untitled

The day before Thanksgiving, we ripped down the back splash in our kitchen. It wasn’t horrible, and I felt a little wasteful, but I knew we wanted to refinish the counters, so I figured if we were ever going to do it, this was the time.

Untitled

It’s a good thing our Thanksgiving guests didn’t mind the ripped up kitchen.

image

Untitled

We did Ardex concrete counters. I did tons of research and looking around online beforehand at various Ardex counters.

Untitled

I won’t post a tutorial here, because there are many online. I will say, however, applying the Ardex is very easy and results in an impressive finish.

Untitled

Mix the Ardex with water, sand the counters, apply, let dry, sand, reapply. Repeat several times.

Untitled

And then, seal. That’s the simple part, right? It’s easy to do, but I had terrible luck with sealers. We tried two different ones, and have a third one that I haven’t yet tried. But the counter is totally destroyed by now, and we have to redo it. Some day we’ll fix it, and some day I’ll update you on the process. But it is totally discouraging and depressing. And annoying. It’s a character flaw that I don’t like redoing things I’ve already put effort into.

Untitled

See how pretty it looked? Makes me sick.

But that leads into the back splash process, which I’m really happy with.

Untitled

I chose marble subway tile, which I love love love.

Untitled

We had a tiny helper.

Untitled

We spent all this time protecting our counter work, and it was all for naught.

Untitled

I’m not at all bitter.

Untitled

The tile, however, makes me happy.

Untitled

(tiny, adorable grouter!)

I went with a dark gray grout.

Untitled

So this is where we are, folks.

image

Ugly iPhone photo, unstaged, half painted.

Actually, it’s worse right now, because we have no cabinet doors, and we haven’t had any for at least three months. We’re classy. And this all takes tons of time between two full-time jobs that include international travel and two tiny people who are cute, but need lots of attention. Also, I like to go to bed at a decent hour, in order to have brain power for tiny people and said job.

image

In retrospect, I would have chosen a lighter gray for the aesthetics. However, I do think the dark grout will be better for hiding stains.

And look how awesome homemade donuts look against the back splash!

image

Fortunately this tiny chef also looks adorable while cooking against the back splash.

image

In approximately 100 years, I’ll show you the finished resurfaced cabinets. Then it’s on to fixing the counters (or replacing them?) and the floor, which awesomely has suddenly decided to come popping up. You know what isn’t awesome? Tripping over a laminate tile while trying to unload the dishwasher/cook dinner/pour milk for a suddenly dying-of-thirst-RIGHT-NOW three-year-old.

And the list goes on.

Leave a Reply

