What’s Cooking at My House: Fried Apple Cakes

20140201-113751.jpg

Are you doing Bountiful Baskets? I love it. It’s inexpensive and I get a bunch of fruits and veggies to work with for the week, forcing me to get creative with using them, as well as using new things occasionally.

I had about 15 little apples left over this time, with a new basket pickup this afternoon, so I needed to use them up. These Fried Apple Cakes were a good Saturday morning pancake alternative that felt a little healthy, even. With a dollop of Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, we got our protein in.

20140201-113810.jpg
As I was cooking them, the 3-year-old popped up on his stool beside me and said, “I don’t like apple pancakes. I like regular pancakes. See? Those are dead.” But then he ate three, dead pancakes or no.

Leave a Reply

