The Real Estate Everyone’s Fighting Over

IMG_1513

In June, we went to Israel.

IMG_1195

It’s a place a lot of people dream their whole lives of visiting, and of course that meant I never really wanted to go because of the hype.

IMG_1492

But I have to say, Jerusalem is an amazing city, and it’s an amazing land. To see things I’d read about over the years a hundred times made them new and real. The arid land, the groves of olive trees, the shepherds on the hills, Zacchaeus’ sycamore tree, the hills and rocks.

IMG_1265
Glad I don’t have to survive here!

 

IMG_1199
Olive groves

 

IMG_1454
Bedouin shepherd boy

 

IMG_1275
Zacchaeus was a wee little man, a wee little man was he…

It was also fascinating for me to finally begin to understand some of the political intricacies surrounding this divided land.

IMG_1197
The wall that divides

IMG_1196

The religious tourists were disgusting to me, though. Huge hordes of busloads can be seen on almost every roadway, winding their ways to various religious shrines. Now, I totally understand why these people want to come and see the land, but the commercialization of it is disgusting.

We stayed in a tourist hotel (is there really another kind there?), but we rented a car and dig our own driving and walking, which made it feel more authentic.

IMG_1177

I will admit, I’ve always wanted to swim in the Dead Sea, to see what it’s like. This is as close as I got, though.

IMG_1272

Ah, well, next time.

IMG_1457

One thought on “The Real Estate Everyone’s Fighting Over

Leave a Reply

