Under the Rock

IMG_9611

You might imagine that there’s nothing much to see in Abeokuta, Nigeria.

And, you’d be right.

IMG_6665

Just kidding. As I mentioned, it’s a big city, bigger than Amsterdam. There are several universities and plenty of modern life. But Abeokuta’s main attraction is the rock that gives the city its name: Olumo Rock.

IMG_9606

It’s the largest of the gray granite rocks sprinkled throughout the city and is historically important to its foundation. I’ll get to the why in a minute. But check out the elevator gifted to the city by a former governor (back left):

IMG_9604

I took my chances with the stairs.

The native people from the area took refuge in the caves during various battles and to avoid slave traders. Thus the name “Abeokuta”, which means “under the rock.”

Look! Here we are, abeokuta!

IMG_9616

Yep, that was the joke I cracked shortly after that photo was taken. I’m sure our tour guide had never heard that before. And before we go on, let’s talk about the guides, shall we?

This is chief guide:

IMG_9610

He was the one giving the history lessons in a slightly monotone but also staccato rendition. Also, I was not allowed to take pictures of anything directly unrelated to the event he was speaking about. “Don’t snap this! Snap here!”

IMG_9612

Along with your guide, you get a second guide. Now I’m not sure what he was supposed to do, but what he did was continually motion us into formation, grab my heavy camera which I nervously handed over, and took photos. Perhaps he was the provided cameraman?

IMG_9621

So that’s why I came home with multiple awkward photos of me in a Hawaiian mu-mu. Yep, that’s right. I’m the one wearing a mu-mu in Nigeria. Can you stand it?

IMG_9622

Why you might ask? Well, because I wanted to pack minimally. And most proper Nigerian women wear longer skirts. I thought: dress saves space versus a skirt and top, plus it’s brightly colored, so I’ll fit right in, right? Yeah, nope.

IMG_9632

White lady + Hawaiian mu-mu = oh, white people are strange anyway.

IMG_9649

So I got away with it.

IMG_9625

The views from the top of Olumo were amazing.

IMG_9637

We stayed a while watching the eagles catch the air currents and hunt.

IMG_9645

And the breeze was just what I needed after the press of the city heat and dust below.

IMG_9642

But eventually, we had to go, so we descended once again into Abeokuta. The city, that is, not below the rock.

IMG_9648

One thought on “Under the Rock

  1. Now I get the mumu conversation. 🙂 I’m so glad you got a picture of that lizard. I tried for a year to snap one, but they were always too quick. I also love that you are the only one smiling in most of those pictures. Ha ha! I love NIgeria!

Leave a Reply

