How to Make a Raised Bed Out of Pallets

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at gardening via raised beds for a few years, but never wanted to put in the effort at our rental. So this was the year I had my own house to do with as I pleased. I decided to make my planter with wooden shipping pallets because FREE.

1. First step: Well, for us it was borrowing a truck, then heading to the warehouse at work and picking out about 15 pallets. (Cute assistant not included.)

20120401-095122.jpg

2. Break down your pallets to create a box with sides. Use boards from other pallets to create the ends. Then we added more boards to the sides to raise the height to about 6 inches. Tutorials I read said the higher the sides are, the more room your plant roots have to grow.

20120401-095603.jpg

This was super labor intensive and took hammers, chisels and a power saw.

20120401-100237.jpg

There was some board trimming. This picture may make you think I did all the hard work, but mainly it was my handy husband.

20120401-095736.jpg

3. Third, we cut and stapled landscaping fabric in the bottom to keep out weeds.

20120401-100523.jpg

4. Then, dirt. I used a mix of top soil, compost, potting soil and all-purpose soil. Dirt was the biggest expense in this project, for sure.

20120401-101017.jpg

5. Then, one person distracts the tired, hungry one-year-old from ripping out the plants while the other person digs holes and plants the herbs as quickly as possible.

20120401-101458.jpg

And, finish. I have a sinking feeling I should have left more space for each plant, but we’ll see how they do. I later added mulch on top along with a soaker hose and a timer so I can flip the water on each morning and have it turn automatically off.

20120401-101854.jpg

I can’t wait to start cooking with them!

One thought on “How to Make a Raised Bed Out of Pallets

Leave a Reply

