Making Modern Art

IMG_5082

You know how people look at modern art and say, “My five year old could have done that?”

IMG_5103

Well, my one year old did.

IMG_5046

I needed some art for the living room. I bought a canvas, intending to paint it myself with my friend, Elisabeth. But then I got impatient, and a friend came up with the idea of letting the kid paint it. And I liked that idea; I liked it a lot.

IMG_5033

So we spread out a drop cloth, poured the paint, stripped the kid down to his skivvies diapers, and let him have at it.

IMG_5056

And what we had was a fun, creative idea that was a new experience for the little one.

IMG_5060

I wasn’t sure how he’d react to it, but once he saw the effect his paint-dipped finger had on the white canvas, he really got in to it.

IMG_5039

Here’s a short clip of him getting started:

I purchased a clearance frame at Hobby Lobby with several chips, gave it a coat of spray paint, and I had myself a piece of art for less than $10.

IMG_5067

IMG_5148

And here’s the finished project:

IMG_5313

I like the fact that most people won’t know my kid did it, and if they do, they’ll think I really think it’s an amazing piece of art, because I’ve framed it.

IMG_5087

But really I find it ironic that it’s on the wall like some expensive piece of art.

IMG_5119

And it provides the perfect pop of color on my pale celery walls.

IMG_5085

One thought on “Making Modern Art

Leave a Reply

