A Small Weekend Project to Satisfy the Soul

Real Simple should hire me.

Someday we’re planning to add a piece of wood to the cabinet above our fridge to finish it off and make it look more built it. And that board is going to be painted in chalkboard paint, and it shall bear my grocery list, my house to-do list, and probably some random scribblings by the short person. But until that someday comes, I had to come up with something to clean up the clutter yet leave me with a spot for grocery buying/meal planning.

Enter: the open door of my plastic storage cupboard.

Step one: purchase a piece of sheet metal from Lowe’s. Step two: purchase square pieces of cork from Hobby Lobby. Affix metal sheet to cupboard. Attach cork to the bottom. Add magnets and a previously owned magnetic pencil holder. Scrounge tacks from the bottom of the desk. Adjust, admire, sigh.

Close the door, no clutter. Open the door, meal planning station!

Real Simple should hire me.

2 thoughts on “A Small Weekend Project to Satisfy the Soul

  1. Ah…I never thought of using a plate rack to hold my lids!! I am all over that. I currently have an exploding lid drawer. Christmas break project…here I come!

Leave a Reply

