What’s Not Cooking in my Kitchen: Watermelon

A poem written for my husband, as we pass through our fourth week of 100+ temps in Oklahoma. On the positive side, I heard this morning that its illegal for the power company to cut off your power when it’s over 100 degrees. On the down side, four weeks, yo. And no end in sight.

This is just to say*

I have eaten
the watermelon
that was in
the refrigerator

and which
you were probably
saving
for a late night snack.

In fact,
I’ve eaten
all the watermelon
in the house
for the last two weeks.

It’s just that
on a warm afternoon
hunched over my computer
the watermelon is
so cold and sweet.

I’ll buy you another.
(And probably eat that one, too.)

 

*Poem adapted from William Carlos Williams’ “This is just to say”

One thought on “What’s Not Cooking in my Kitchen: Watermelon

Leave a Reply

