That Ain’t No Rooster

The Muslim call to prayer is a distinctive part of life in any Arabic country. I got chills listening to the cacophony ringing from every mosque tower as I stood in on the citadel in the center of old Amman. I even heard recently on NPR that offensive mosque singers in Istanbul were recently required to take voice lessons.I don’t think the man singing through the loudspeaker in the neighborhood mosque across from my Cairo hotel ever took a voice lesson in his life. And lucky me, my room was directly across from the speaker.

Every morning at 5 a.m. I was jolted awake to these sweet strains:

By the second day I had learned to reach for the ear plugs.

One thought on “That Ain’t No Rooster

  1. That is our life in Indonesia! Especially when we were in Java in language school. we lived on the side of a hill, right in a valley – we could hear all the mosques echo up and down the valley at all hours, I think we could hear at least 6 or 7 of them. Which was real fun when they went all night long for the holy days! It is a very unique sound, that is for sure! and I know that most of them that we hear haven’t had any voice training!!!

Leave a Reply

