And Other Hazards of Air Travel

I’ve been accused of having bird-like twig ankles. I believe it was my college roommates who asked how I managed to stand upright on such small feet and tiny supporting ankles.

Now these photos are going to be gross, but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

And that’s what 27 hours of air travel plus 48 hours of travel time to Jordan does to my ankles. See the distinct line at the bottom of my ankle? That’s where my shoes ended. I kept them on during the flights, and that helped my feet not swell.

Chipped nail polish and all. It’s like having a little inner tube around my ankle. I wonder if they would float?

I told you it was gross! You didn’t have to look!

Now that I’ve burned your eyeballs with way too many close ups of my feet, here’s the normal version for comparison:

See? Bird ankles.

We will now return to our regularly scheduled programming, in which I do not subject you to views of my feet.

2 thoughts on “And Other Hazards of Air Travel

  1. All I can say is I have seen much worse…my own bird-like ankles swollen up like elephants. I go really old lady now and buy diabetes/support hose for plane rides. What a difference! Keeps the blood circulating around the rest of my body. Question is, when all that blood is around one’s ankles, does that mean I can’t think any more?

Leave a Reply

