Cuba Libre: One Week

cuba3
from frenchcreoles.com

We leave for Cuba in less than one week.

I’m really not sure what to expect. On one hand, it’s a tourist destination for everyone in the world except Americans. On the other hand, it hasn’t been easy to navigate all the details necessary to make this trip happen, though I had some amazing help from Mr. Schmidt.

I’m excited to experience the people, the culture, the color and the warmth. On the other hand, these are people who live in neighborhoods with committees set up to specifically monitor what their neighbors are doing. Foreigners aren’t supposed to visit Cuban’s homes, unless they have special permission. It’s still hard for me to imagine a society where people aren’t free, where they learn the US is an imperialistic devil that hates Cuba, though I know that’s not how most people think.

One week until I experience life on that small island for myself .

One week.

Leave a Reply

