Midwestern churches

dsc00594

In all my travels, I’ve developed a hobby of photographing churches.  I don’t know why exactly. It’s the stained glass, the architecture representing a past, building materials that reflect a culture, the spires straining against the sky?

dsc00725

Maybe it’s just because a church represents hope, the faith of a people in a community gathered together.

dsc00571

At the same time, there’s nothing holy about the building itself. And for many people, the church building itself probably stands for organized religion, the hypocrisy of Christians and a place of hurt.

dsc00723

When I take the photos, I know I probably wouldn’t agree with all of what is taught within those walls.

dsc00574

All I can do is do my best to be a part of the message of hope.

dsc00728

One thought on “Midwestern churches

  1. 1. I am a dork and thought you had just made a name up for yourself so I never checked this.
    2. Nate & I just ran across a bEAutiful church on our way to the Farmer’s Market. Next time you are in town, we will go explore and photograph it. Remind me!

Leave a Reply

