An Ode to Oatmeal (may I never eat it)

oatmeal

(because Emily thought it was funny…)

When I was a kid, when I would spend the night at my friend Lisa’s house, it seemed like their family would always have oatmeal in the morning! And I felt like I should eat it without complaining. I put jelly, sugar, anything on it to make it taste better, but I could never eat more than a bite or two. So I would quickly try to clear the bowl from the table and throw it out, hoping her mom wouldn’t notice. Finally, one day her mom told me that I should just ask for something else, because I was wasting food! I felt so embarrassed. But I never had to eat oatmeal at her house again.

Leave a Reply

